The Boundaries of Free Speech and Assembly – Confronting Injustice in Public Spaces

Spoma Jovanovic (faculty group leader), Michael Frierson, and Thomas Jackson. Student awardees include Ariel Brown, Shawn Smith, Marcus Hyde, and Jaqoune Lewis. Affiliated faculty and community participants include Erin Lawrimore (Jackson Library), John Swaine (International Civil Rights Center and Museum), William Harris (University of Pennsylvania),
Jeff Jones (UNCG), Michael Sistrom (Greensboro College), Linda Brown (Bennett College), Risa Applegarth (UNCG), Cris Damasceno and Roy Schwartzman (UNCG).

Our interdisciplinary faculty-student research project calls attention to the long history of struggle by people in the United States and around the world to assert their voices to advance democratic empowerment in public places. These are often contested spaces where individuals assemble in collective action to resist or challenge prevailing norms, structures and institutions of unequal power.